RISD Grad Student Looking for Producers for Public Art Project!

The New Republic of Rhode Island (working title)

Charlotte Clement

RISD Masters of Industrial Design Candidate

[email protected]

Description:

I am an industrial design graduate and artist at RISD, as well as a Rhode Islander. I am working on my final thesis project and would love your help! Below is a description of what the project is and what it is designed to do. It will be exhibited in the RISD museum at the end of May, and will hopefully be grant-funded and actualized.

I am designing agrotourism experiences for local urban environments so Providence region residents can engage with their greater local food system. These experiences are free and accessible. Rhode Island residents and consumers will gain a greater sense of place and community through engagement with the local agricultural environment and key information, both of which will help them feel a little more knowledgeable and connected to their local food system. I am leveraging Rhode Island’s deep restaurant identity and combining it with materiality, nostalgia, and novelty to create celebratory moments of public consciousness. My agrotourism experiences are designed to provide selected farmers/fisherman/producers with additional stability, as well as identify where average people hold different scales of power. During my research I have heard many producer stories which have helped me feel excited and connected to my dinner plate, community, and Rhode Island. I am excited to share your livelihood/stories with the public, as I think you deserve to be celebrated and highlighted.

What it is, exactly: